Saturday, January 11, 2014

1935-6 Van Horn Basketball Team

1935-36 Van Horn Basketball Team, District Champs, Photograph, ca. 1935 - 1936; digital image, ( : accessed January 07, 2014), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History,; crediting Clark Hotel Museum, Van Horn, Texas.  
One of our organization's first preservation projects was to work with Van Horn's Clark Hotel Museum and the Portal to Texas History to digitize the photography collection chronicling the history of Culberson County.

This gem was included in that collection:

Photograph of coaches and basketball team. Photograph of the Van Horn Basketball Team, 1935-36. District Champions. Front Row-Bob Hurt, Roy Johnson, D.L. Moore, James Mayfield; Second Row-Horace Oiver (Superintendent), Baylus Wagnon, Bart Knight, Dutch Walters, Ben Medley, Raymond Wheat (Assistant Coach), Back-Jimmy Terrell (coach)

Link to this photograph online at the Portal to Texas History.

No comments: